Devotion Logo

Top Login

Pradhan Mantri Matritva Vandana Yojana (PMMVY)

Pradhan Mantri Matritva Vandana Yojana (PMMVY) is implemented all over the India w.e.f. 01st January, 2017, is a maternity benefit program run by the government of India. The Scheme is revamped of previously Indira Gandhi Matritva Sahyog Yojana (IGMSY),

The National Food Security Act, 2013 (NFSA) provides that every Pregnant Woman and Lactating Mother, except those who are in regular employment with the Government or those who are in receipt of similar benefits under any law for the time being in force, shall be entitled to maternity benefit of not less than rupees six thousand.

It is a conditional cash transfer scheme associated with some conditions to receive the payment. PMMVY envisages payment of maternity benefits of Rs. 5,000/- in three installments at the stage of early registration of pregnancy, after six months of pregnancy with at least one antenatal check-up and registration of child birth & first cycle of immunisation of the child. The eligible beneficiary is to receive the remaining cash incentive as per approved norms towards Maternity Benefit under JananiSurakshaYojana (JSY) after institutional delivery so that on an average, a woman gets Rs. 6000/-.

Other facts:

• It provides partial wage compensation to women for wage-loss during childbirth and childcare. Further, it provides conditions for safe delivery and good nutrition and feeding practices.
• The maternity benefits under PMMVY are available to the eligible beneficiaries for first living child of family.
• PMMVY is implemented by the Ministry of Women & Child Development in collaboration with State Governments.
• Scheme provides Aadhaar linkage, Direct Benefit Transfer, antenatal check-up and registration of child birth & first cycle of immunization of the child.
• It is Centrally Sponsored Scheme under which the cost sharing ratio between the Centre and the States & UTs with Legislature is 60:40, for North-Eastern States & three Himalayan States, it is 90:10 and 100% Central assistance for Union Territories without Legislature.

Sources: Press Information Bureau